Next webinar: Myxomycetes with Karina Knight

Next webinar: Myxomycetes with Karina Knight

We are pleased to announce Karina Knight from WA as the next speaker in our current webinar series! Tuesday 24th January 4.30pm AWST (WA), 6pm ACST (NT), 6.30pm AEST (QLD), 7pm ACDT (SA), 7.30pm AEDT (VIC/NSW/TAS) Held via Zoom. Book here. Free for F...

Read more

Taxonomy: Part 2. The Tree of Life

Taxonomy: Part 2. The Tree of Life

In Part 1 we established that the taxonomy of organisms is a very useful and essential human concept if we are going to study biology, and we started to get a grasp of how that taxonomy works. We can also see why it changes from time to time as new information...

Read more

Adelaide Fungal Studies Group Annual Report 2021-2022

Adelaide Fungal Studies Group Annual Report 2021-2022

AFSG Annual Report July 2021-July 2022 The AFSG has in the past year grown in membership and I have been impressed with the commitment of all the members to provide expertise to community groups in addition to providing expertise to AFSG forays, workshops and ...

Read more

Taxonomy: Part 1. What is it?

Taxonomy: Part 1. What is it?

I have been asked to write a few words about biological taxonomy – simple, heh! If only! Firstly, as naturalists and biologists, we probably think mostly in terms of genus and species. But – taxonomic classification is just a system whereby things are orga...

Read more

Next funginar: Barry Muir

Next funginar: Barry Muir

We are pleased to introduce Barry Muir from Cairns as our next webinar speaker:   Thursday 10th November 5pm AWST (WA), 6.30pm ACST (NT), 7pm AEST (QLD), 7.30pm ACDT (SA), 8pm AEDT (VIC/NSW/TAS) Held via Zoom. Free for Fungimap members, donation for every...

Read more